www.zeroshell.org Forum Index www.zeroshell.org
Linux Distribution for server and embedded devices
 
 SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile  Log inLog in  Log in to check your private messagesPrivate Message 

equipment conectivity using tera term

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.zeroshell.org Forum Index -> ZeroShell
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
lennynpeter



Joined: 01 Dec 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 7:07 pm    Post subject: equipment conectivity using tera term Reply with quote

Hi,
Iím pretty much a rookie talking about networking and have just a basic knowledge until today. My ISP recently quit service and I had to look for another solution. That was the trigger to finally change my old 2wire 1800 home portal for an Alix 2d3 box running ZeroShell 2.0 RC1. Additionally Iím using an old CISCO Catalyst 2924XL. So far Iíve got to the point of a basic setup and it works well. Right know my question: using the 2wire home portal I could easily connect to the Cisco switch, using secure shell and tera term, now with the ZeroShell box I can connect to the switch using the GUI (browser), but if Iím pinging the device or try to use tera term, I always get a ĎRequest time outí/íConnection time outí message. What Iím doing wrong? Thanks in advance!!
Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ppalias



Joined: 17 Dec 2008
Posts: 1151
Location: Athens, Greece

PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2012 12:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What are the IPs, masks and gateways of each device?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
lennynpeter



Joined: 01 Dec 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 12:42 pm    Post subject: equipment conectivity using tera term - reply Reply with quote

Thanks for your post. The Cisco switch has IP 10.95.90.150,
network mask is 255.255.255.0 and the default gateway 10.95.90.254
connected to ETH00 with IP 10.95.90.254, network mask 255.255.255.0,
about the default gateway Iím not completely sure in the case of ETH00
so Iíve added below the zeroshell routing table:

Destination Netmask Gateway Interface
DEFAULT GATEWAY 0.0.0.0 10.64.64.64 ppp0
10.64.64.64 255.255.255.255 none ppp0
10.95.90.0 255.255.255.0 none BRIDGE00
10.95.91.0 255.255.255.0 none BRIDGE00
10.95.98.0 255.255.255.0 none BRIDGE01

Hope that helps so far!

Peter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ppalias



Joined: 17 Dec 2008
Posts: 1151
Location: Athens, Greece

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 10:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The pc that you are trying to connect to the cisco switch has which IP,mask and gw? So far I don't see anything wrong. Maybe you could post the firewall rules too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.zeroshell.org Forum Index -> ZeroShell All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group