www.zeroshell.org Forum Index www.zeroshell.org
Linux Distribution for server and embedded devices
 
 SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile  Log inLog in  Log in to check your private messagesPrivate Message 

DHCP server option 15 (domain-name) and Windows client

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.zeroshell.org Forum Index -> ZeroShell
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Shadok



Joined: 10 Jan 2013
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 9:01 am    Post subject: DHCP server option 15 (domain-name) and Windows client Reply with quote

Hi,

I have an issue with Zeroshell (2.0 RC3) DHCP server and Windows clients.
In my dhcp.conf, i have the option 15 defined as is for my subnet :
option domain-name "localdomain.com";

Problem is, my dhcp windows client don't get this option as the field "DNS suffix for this connexion", under the DNS tab in the TCP/IP v4 advanced properties of my ethernet card isn't filled.

This cause the resolution of the fqdn to work but not of the hostname.
Eg : srv4.localdomain.com works but not srv4.

Any idea ?

Regards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
redfive



Joined: 27 Aug 2009
Posts: 232

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 11:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe I misunderstood your problem , but I simply filled with my domain-name the text-box "Subnet Options>> Domain Name" in the dhcp config page , and I can access resources via hostname , as well as with FQDN from win7 clients
Code:
C:\Windows\system32>ping dell_jo

Esecuzione di Ping dell_jo.redfive.lan [192.168.192.7] con 32 byte di dati:
Risposta da 192.168.192.7: byte=32 durata<1ms TTL=128
Risposta da 192.168.192.7: byte=32 durata<1ms TTL=128
Risposta da 192.168.192.7: byte=32 durata<1ms TTL=128
Risposta da 192.168.192.7: byte=32 durata<1ms TTL=128

greetings
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shadok



Joined: 10 Jan 2013
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 11:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You got it right.
I set it up too.
But on Windows 8 it didn't work out of the box, I don't really know why.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.zeroshell.org Forum Index -> ZeroShell All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group