www.zeroshell.org Forum Index www.zeroshell.org
Linux Distribution for server and embedded devices
 
 SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile  Log inLog in  Log in to check your private messagesPrivate Message 

ZS3 - Config advice request

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.zeroshell.org Forum Index -> ZeroShell
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rmorris



Joined: 21 Feb 2014
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Feb 21, 2014 6:23 pm    Post subject: ZS3 - Config advice request Reply with quote

Hello,

I am looking for advice at how best to configure my ZeroShell install in the following scenario:

I have 2 x ISP, 1 x Smoothwall Firewall/filtering.

I have installed ZS3 with 3 nics, eth00 (LAN), eth01 (ISP1), eth02 (ISP2).

I hope to have things setup as follows:

Everything on my LAN goes through the Smoothwall firewall. Everthing coming in/out of the smoothwall goes to the Zeroshell. Zeroshell then load balances to the two ISP's.

Ascii Art diagram:


ISP1 ISP2
(DHCP) Static IP
| |
-----------| |--------
eth01 etho02
dynamically allocated 10.168.169.168
| |
------------------------------
| ZeroShell3 loadbalance |
------------------------------
|
192.168.10.9
|
|
192.168.10.10
|
-------------------------
| Smoothwall filter |
--------------------------
|
172.16.0.1
DHCP serving LAN clients



[Apologies - preview suggests my diagram will not make much sense]
So my question is: is this possible?
If so - any advice on IP setup?
I want to keep my smoothwall as I have filtering policies already setup.

Thank you,

Richard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmorris



Joined: 21 Feb 2014
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2014 3:09 pm    Post subject: Suggestions Reply with quote

Hello,

Further to my first ever post above - did I word it correctly?

Does anyone have any suggestions as to where I might start?

I notice more than 40 views to this thread but no contributions!

Thanks in advance,

Richard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lannet2k



Joined: 30 Jan 2014
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2014 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
it seem to be correct.
I do all the work only with ZS, I also have 2 ISP both dinamic and I use the Loadbalance and seem to works OK the only thing that I also do is the firewall and DHCP all inside ZS.
I tested also a configuration like you suggesting ( having the DHCP and Firewall on another hardware after the ZS HW ) but it add some latency to the traffic so I dismiss the second firewall and setup all in ZS.
Cya
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DrmCa



Joined: 12 Apr 2011
Posts: 223

PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2014 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's my config as well, except that ISP assigns static IPs to my 2x dry DSL loops.

I have DHCP and handful of FW rules on ZS, but we must keep in mind that L7 filter is not working!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.zeroshell.org Forum Index -> ZeroShell All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group