www.zeroshell.org Forum Index www.zeroshell.org
Linux Distribution for server and embedded devices

SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile  Log inLog in  Log in to check your private messagesPrivate Message 

huge problems with revokation of certs

View previous topic :: View next topic  
rob_zero

PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 7:59 am    Post subject: huge problems with revokation of certs Reply with quote

Hi there,

This is my very first time dropping some lines in this forum, so I really hope anyone can help me on this:

When I revoke an user's certificate by Users > X509 > revoke Certificate in order to NOT allow him VPN connection anymore, this same user still can connect by VPN, and supposely the certificate exists no more! Even if I delete that user from the Users List after revoking+delete his certificate, he still can connect!!! This is getting me crazy indeed... how is that possible?? Is there any way to delete a certificate by console or whatever? Looks like that certificate and user still exists somewhere in some database or record...

Please I need some help!!!

Thank you very much in advance!!
misterplow

PostPosted: Tue Dec 22, 2009 5:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The way that OpenVPN works is that each time you revoke a certificate it generates/updates a CRL (certificate revocation list) file, against which it checks incoming client connection requests. Even though you may revoke multiple client certificates, the CRL is just one key, against which multiple clients keys can generate a hit/match.

You can find the crl.pem file that ZS uses at the location of:
Code:
/Database/etc/ssl/crl.pem

So, if you start the OpenVPN server process with the option of
Code:
--crl-verify /Database/etc/ssl/crl.pem

It will then reject any certificates that you have revoked.