www.zeroshell.org Forum Index www.zeroshell.org
Linux Distribution for server and embedded devices

SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile  Log inLog in  Log in to check your private messagesPrivate Message 

Compiling a new kernel for Zeroshell

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Marcelo

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2010 11:21 pm    Post subject: Compiling a new kernel for Zeroshell Reply with quote

Hello!

The purpose of this post is to describe the overall steps necessary to compile a newer kernel for Compact Flash version of Zeroshell (2.6.32.5 as of the time I wrote this post).

Although I'm a very a experienced linux user/admin I'm very new to Zeroshell (My first installation was less than 1 week ago), so, forgive me if there is an easier way of doing this that I don't know of...

All begun when I had some problems with the out-of-the-shelf Zeroshell image supporting a Davicom USB/ETHERNET adapter with the original 2.6.20.25 kernel included on Beta12.
Of course the culprit wasn't Zeroshell itself (which is actually an excellent, not to say AMAZING, distribution), but the kernel version, which leaded me to execute the procedure I describe below).

The upgrade process wasn't simple and, actually, I didn't take note of every step in detail, and much of it was result of a do-test-change-try-again process; Just too much to describe here in detail, so I'll describe the overall idea, including the way I used to generate a proper initrd file.

Overall steps:
=========

1 - compiled the kernel in a different box (same architecture);
1.1 - I got the original Zeroshell kernel ".config" file by running "zcat /proc/config.gz >.config" using the Zeroshell's shell.
1.2 - Before recompiling, I applied the l7 netfilter ( http://l7-filter.sourceforge.net/ ) kernel patches to the vanilla image (not at the first trial, but then I realized I lost the L7 net-filtering capabilities... so I had to recompile everything Smile ).