www.zeroshell.org Forum Index www.zeroshell.org
Linux Distribution for server and embedded devices
 
 SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile  Log inLog in  Log in to check your private messagesPrivate Message 

2.0RC2 -- Does it work at all?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.zeroshell.org Forum Index -> ZeroShell
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
stfarley



Joined: 07 Jan 2013
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 3:30 pm    Post subject: 2.0RC2 -- Does it work at all? Reply with quote

Does anybody have this working?

I have an Atom based miniPC with 2 USB NICS configured as follows

ETH0 => LAN
ETH1 => ISP1
ETH2 => ISP2

If I bypass the router I get 120Mb download from ISP1 and 8Mb from ISP2.
Through the router I can't get more than 7Mb.

If I go to load balancing I can see both ISP connections and when I configure ICMP Failover I get successful tests as long as I don't enable load balancing. AS soon as I enable it both ISPs fail the test and I have no internet access through the router.

Also for every change I need to re-boot otherwise it doesn't work properly. Not sure if this is expected.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Alesandro



Joined: 30 Jan 2013
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2013 10:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just registered here to ask the EXACT same (hell, even my connection speeds are the same)! So it's not just you. Have you found any solution to this besides downgrading to a previous version of ZeroShell? Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stfarley



Joined: 07 Jan 2013
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2013 2:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No luck yet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JamesR



Joined: 30 Jan 2013
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2013 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FWIW, I found 2.0. RC2 stable & powerful enough but my broadband bandwidth was only about 35 Mbps down/6 up. I also didn't try load balancing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DrmCa



Joined: 12 Apr 2011
Posts: 233

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 4:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am going to try 2.0 with 2x 6mbit load balanced DSLs on the weekend and report. can't do it right now due to being connected to work via VPN all the time, but promise I will test soon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DrmCa



Joined: 12 Apr 2011
Posts: 233

PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 5:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Figured my CD image was corrupt from using download accelerator... 2nd try...

No good! No more load balancing, limited under 6 mbit.

Actually, after more testing, I managed to force some load balancing to occur after adding many download segments. With 1.0 and Atheling's patch the 2nd d/l segment would almost 100% be load balanced. Here I had to add 6-7 segments to get load balancing.

Do I need to remove Atheling's patch? Maybe it's interfering...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JamesR



Joined: 30 Jan 2013
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DrmCa wrote:
Figured my CD image was corrupt from using download accelerator... 2nd try...

No good! No more load balancing, limited under 6 mbit.

Actually, after more testing, I managed to force some load balancing to occur after adding many download segments. With 1.0 and Atheling's patch the 2nd d/l segment would almost 100% be load balanced. Here I had to add 6-7 segments to get load balancing.

Do I need to remove Atheling's patch? Maybe it's interfering...


You may want to run a checksum of your 2.0RC2 image. I've seen some reports that some of the download sites (one in Switzerland?) may have bad copies. Incidentally, my 2.0RC2 CD ISO has this SHA-1 hash: f7abb94f0808b9675d7f072fb662c3256b051e0e and has been working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DrmCa



Joined: 12 Apr 2011
Posts: 233

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 3:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

JamesR wrote:
You may want to run a checksum of your 2.0RC2 image. I've seen some reports that some of the download sites (one in Switzerland?) may have bad copies. Incidentally, my 2.0RC2 CD ISO has this SHA-1 hash: f7abb94f0808b9675d7f072fb662c3256b051e0e and has been working.

Smile And how do you think I figured that? Laughing

BTW, Switzreland mirror has a good copy. Just don't use download managers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.zeroshell.org Forum Index -> ZeroShell All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group