www.zeroshell.org Forum Index www.zeroshell.org
Linux Distribution for server and embedded devices
 
 SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile  Log inLog in  Log in to check your private messagesPrivate Message 

Can not add a Default Gateway ...

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.zeroshell.org Forum Index -> Networking
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
FurFrog



Joined: 05 May 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2008 6:59 pm    Post subject: Can not add a Default Gateway ... Reply with quote

Hi,
first of all: pls excuse my bad english, Iīm german.

So now my problem is, that in network-setup from Zeroshell, I canīt place a default gateway.
Everytime I tried to set it up, and give him the IP of my router (192.168.1.254) it ends up like:
ERROR: Default Gateway not added: gateway 192.168.1.254 is not directly connected.

But it is directly connected ... Sad

Any ideas?
Pls help

Greets from sunny germany
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fulvio
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Nov 2006
Posts: 1041

PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2008 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you sure that your router Zeroshell has an interface on which an IP belonging to the the subnet 192.168.1.0/255.255.255.0 is defined?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
FurFrog



Joined: 05 May 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2008 8:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
well, I can only add manually a gateway in Router-Menu from zeroshell.
Looks like this:

Destination: 192.168.1.0
Netmask: 255.255.255.0
Type: Net
Metric: 1
Gateway: 192.168.1.254
Interface:
State: Up

Doesnīt help ...

Whats wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fulvio
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Nov 2006
Posts: 1041

PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2008 8:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, but before adding the gateway you need to add an IP belonging to the class 192.168.1.0/24 to the interface directly connected to the router. To Add an IP use the button [Add IP] from the section [Setup]->[Network] of the web interface.

Regards
Fulvio
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
FurFrog



Joined: 05 May 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed May 07, 2008 10:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey, works fine now !
Thanks for guiding.
Just one more question, but its possibly the wrong forum:
Is it possible to open a default page after the captive portal login?

Greets
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fulvio
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Nov 2006
Posts: 1041

PostPosted: Wed May 07, 2008 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are right, this is a wrong place to ask for captive portal.

Regards
Fulvio
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.zeroshell.org Forum Index -> Networking All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group