www.zeroshell.org Forum Index www.zeroshell.org
Linux Distribution for server and embedded devices

SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile  Log inLog in  Log in to check your private messagesPrivate Message 

I fixed a lot of my problems in one go

View previous topic :: View next topic  
t3mporal

PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2016 7:48 pm    Post subject: I fixed a lot of my problems in one go Reply with quote

After running zeroshell for I guess nearly 10 years, and donating several times, I started to wonder if there was a viable alternative that was not riddled with bugs the dev refuses to acknowledge let alone fix, and gradually declining performance. The catalyst was upgrading to 100Mbit fibre and realising that nothing short of an Athlon 64 would cope with the load.

I've been running pfSense for over six months now. Feature wise it's on parity if not better, internet throughput is saturated at less than 50% load on a Via Eden @ 1GHz, it's significantly more reliable.

It's slightly easier to install, regularly updated including a significant UI overhall while I've been using it, there's active support and a forum populated by more than a handful of people. There are a few theoretical features Zeroshell has that pfSense doesn't have, but the pfSense features work without prayer and sacrifice.

Slap a DNR on Zeroshell. Fulvio is clearly sick of it and I'm sure his time could be better spent.
Cybernol

PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2016 8:38 pm    Post subject: Sorry you feel that way - I have the opposit from you Reply with quote

As I was looking for an easy an fast way to implement an bridge firewall solution, I looked around and I found pfsense tried to install and had all kind of strange effects.

No offense to Pf for sure an other way to look at it and i know guys who love it just the way I hate it, for me thats an stupid interface and I could not find what I was looking for.